New Jersey Lemon Law Attorneys
Buying a new car is an exciting experience and New Jersey consumers have a right to expect their vehicles to meet high standards of performance, reliability, and safety. If you have purchased or leased a new vehicle that has repeatedly been in the shop for repairs, however, you may have a lemon on your hands. That’s the bad news. The good news is that you may be entitled to meaningful compensation under the New Jersey Lemon Law.
Timothy Abeel & Associates, P.C. is a premier consumer protection law firm serving clients throughout New Jersey. Well-versed in the applicable state lemon law and federal warranty laws, we are highly regarded for providing our clients with aggressive legal representation. Our legal team has a well-earned reputation for being dedicated consumer advocates and helping our clients fight back against the big automakers.
New Jersey Lemon Law Claims
Under the New Jersey Lemon Law, a new vehicle is considered to be a “lemon” if a defect has been reported to the dealer within the first 24 months or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first), and the defect has not been repaired after 3 attempts, or the vehicle is in the shop for more than 20 days. The defect must substantially impair the use, value or safety of the vehicle. If the defect might cause serious bodily harm or death, however, the dealer only gets one attempt to make the repair.
In any event, pursuing a New Jersey Lemon Law claim can be complicated because of the strict procedural rules involved. In particular, you must give the manufacturer one last chance to fix the defect. After two repair attempts, or 20 days out of service, you are required to notify the manufacturer in writing of your intent to file a lemon law claim. The manufacturer has 10 days to complete the repair once it has received the “last chance” letter. If the defect still has not been fixed, an experienced Lemon Law attorney can help you pursue a claim.
How Timothy Abeel & Associates Can Help with Your New Jersey Lemon Law Claim
Our dedicated legal team will determine whether you have a valid lemon law claim by learning about your vehicle’s repair history and searching the public record for any recalls or reports of defects. We will leverage our skills and resources to pursue your New Jersey Lemon law claim and work to make sure the needed repairs are completed. Even if the defect falls outside of the 24-month timeline, you may still have a viable breach of warranty claim.
If the dealer or manufacturer cannot fix the problem or refuses to do so, we will aggressively fight for your rights. Depending on the nature of the defect and the value of your claim, you may be entitled to a refund or a replacement vehicle. Although car buyers are known for having brand loyalty, many of our clients opt for a refund rather than a replacement vehicle.
A refund will cover the cost of your vehicle, which includes taxes and license, registration and finance fees and any additional charges. It is worth noting that the New Jersey Lemon Law grants manufacturers a reasonable allowance or credit per mile for vehicle usage, which may reduce the amount of your refund. At the same time, the Lemon Law allows you to recover attorneys’ fees and costs, which means that you will not have any out-of-pocket legal expenses.
Are used cars covered by the New Jersey Lemon Law?
Used car buyers are protected to some extent under New Jersey’s Used Car Lemon Law which requires used car dealers to provide warranties for pre-owned passenger vehicles. For vehicles with up to 24,000 miles, for example, the warranty must be for a period of 90 days or 3,000 miles, whichever occurs first. If the vehicle has more than 24,000 miles, but less than 60,000, the warranty must be for the earlier of 60 days or 2,000 miles. For vehicles with mileage between 60,000 and 100,000 miles, the warranty must be for the earlier of 30 days or 1,000 miles. The used car lemon law does not cover vehicles that cost less than $3,000, are more than seven years old, have more than 100,000 miles, or have been declared a total loss by the insurance company.
What can I do if my car is a lemon?
If you purchased or leased a new vehicle in New Jersey that is experiencing problems, immediately take the car to the dealer for repairs — which should be covered under the manufacturer’s warranty. Keep detailed notes of everything that occurs and take the names of everyone at the dealership and/or manufacturer that you deal with. If the dealer attempts the repairs, make sure you receive a receipt that specifies the nature of the complaint, the dealer’s diagnosis, and repairs that were performed.
If the problem has not been resolved, call Timothy Abeel & Associates, P.C. as soon as possible so we can start working on your New Jersey Lemon Law claim. We will leverage our legal skills and consumer protection experience to enforce your rights. Knowing that buying or leasing a car represents a significant investment, our attorneys will work diligently to help you obtain the compensation you deserve. Call our office today or complete the online contact form to set up a free consultation.
The New Jersey Lemon Law covers vehicles purchased in New Jersey or registered in New Jersey that experience defects / warranty problems within the:
- First two (2) years or twenty-four thousand (24,000) miles;
- Have been subject to an unreasonable amount of repairs; and
- The problem(s) substantially impair the use, value or safety.
- If you purchased a car in New Jersey with problems that occurred after 2 years or 24,000 miles, you may still be protected under consumer protection laws, call us for a free consultation.